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1. What is the cost of a Public Works license? 

 
 

CLASS FEE 

Unlimited $550  
AAA $450  
AA $350  
A $250  
B $150  

CC $125 
C $100  
D $50  

 
 

2. What information do I need to submit in order to get a Public Works 
Contractor license? 

 
• A contractor application form must be completed and submitted to Public Works 

Contractors Licensing along with the appropriate license fee. 
• A current financial statement. 
• Three (3) contractor references. 
• The appropriate examination form for the class of license you are applying for.  

 
 
3. What Public Works Contractor test will I need to take? 

 
• If you are applying for a Class D license, complete the Class D Examination 

(pwf-106) included with the application materials and available under Forms & 
Applications and submit it with your application. Your license will be issued when 
your application has been approved and you have passed your examination with 
a score of 70% or higher.  

• If you are applying for a Class Unlimited, AAA, AA, A, B, CC or C license you 
will need to complete the License Examination Information form (pwf-106a) 
available under Forms & Applications and submit it with your application. Once 
your application has been approved, you will be notified by Division of Building 
Safety (DBS) via email to schedule your examination at one of our testing sites. 
Your license will be issued when we receive confirmation that you attained a 
score of 70% or higher. 

 
 

http://dbs.idaho.gov/forms/pwc_forms.html
http://dbs.idaho.gov/forms/pwc_forms.html
http://dbs.idaho.gov/forms/pwc_forms.html
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4. How can I order Public Works Contractor study reference information? 
 

• The Class D study information is always included with mailed out applications.  It 
consists of the Idaho Public Works Statutes and Rules which relates to Public 
Works Contractor licensing. It can also be acquired by calling (800) 955-3044 or 
is available for download by clicking the link above. 
 

• The Class Unlimited, AAA, AA, A, B, CC or C study information is the Idaho 
Public Works Statutes and Rules AND the Division of Building Safety 
Contractor's Business and Law Reference Manual. They can be acquired by 
calling (800) 955-3044 or is available by download by clicking the links above. 

 
5. How do I determine the type(s) of Public Works Contractor license(s) I may 

need? 
 

There are four (4) types of Public Works Contractor licenses:  
 

1. Heavy Construction  
2. Highway Construction 
3. Building Construction 
4. Specialty Construction 

 
The type establishes the work that can be performed as a Public Works 
Contractor. In order to determine the appropriate type, contractors must submit 
detailed work history and reference letters.  

 
6. How do I determine which class of license I may need? 

 
There are eight (8) classes of licenses: Unlimited, AAA, AA, A, B, CC, C and D.  
 
The class of license determines the dollar amount a Public Works Contractor 
may bid for on a Public Works project.  
 
Classes of licenses are determined by the company’s net worth, working capital 
and the dollar amount of projects they have completed.  
 
The chart below will help you choose the appropriate class of license.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://dbs.idaho.gov/rules/2012/2012_PWCL_Statutes_Rules_Pkt.pdf
http://dbs.idaho.gov/rules/2012/2012_PWCL_Statutes_Rules_Pkt.pdf
http://dbs.idaho.gov/rules/2012/2012_PWCL_Statutes_Rules_Pkt.pdf
http://dbs.idaho.gov/exams/Final_Contractors_Manual.pdf
http://dbs.idaho.gov/exams/Final_Contractors_Manual.pdf
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Net Worth  Working Capital  Completed  
Project Amounts  

Bid Limit by Class 

Unlimited  $1,000,000  $600,000 $3,500,000  Unlimited 
AAA  $600,000  $200,000 $2,100,000  $5,000,000 or less 
AA  $450,000  $150,000 $875,000  $3,000,000 
A  $300,000  $100,000 $420,000  $1,250,000 
B  $150,000  $50,000 $280,000  $600,000 

CC $75,000 $25,000 $140,000 $400,000 
C  $25,000  $7,500 $35,000  $200,000 
D  $10,000  $3,000 No Minimum  

Dollar Amount  
$50,000 or less  

 
 
 

7. What are the financial statement requirements for each class of license? 
 
Class Type of Financial Statement Required 

D or C  

Financial statements must either be on our approved, multi-purpose 
balance sheet pgs. 1 - 8 provided (information can not be more than 
six months old), on QuickBooks or otherwise prepared by a CPA or 
LPA. Statements prepared by a CPA or LPA must include the 
accountant's report and may be compiled, reviewed or an audited 
balance sheet. Financial statements more than 12 months old will 
not be accepted. 

CC or B 
Requires a Compiled financial statement prepared by a CPA or LPA. 
It MUST include the accountant's report and cannot be more than 12 
months old. 

A, AA, 
AAA or 
Unlimited 

Requires either a Reviewed or Audited financial statement prepared 
by a CPA or LPA. It MUST include the accountant's report and 
cannot be more than 12 months old. 

Parent 
Co.  

Parent company financial statements submitted for qualification must 
reflect the company's name in the financial statement and include a 
guarantor letter. 

 
 
 

8. How often will I have to renew my Public Works Contractor license? 
 

Licenses are renewed annually on the anniversary date of your original license 
issue. 
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9. If awarded a Public Works project can I let another contractor perform work 
under my license?  
 
No.  A Public Works Contractor license cannot be used by another contractor.  
As a licensed Public Works Contractor, you have the option of sub-contracting 
work to another licensed Public Works Contractor, or putting the unlicensed 
contractor’s employees on your payroll to perform that portion of the work.  If you 
choose the latter option, you must pay the employees directly and provide them a 
form W-2. 

 
 

10. Why do I have to list Plumbing, Mechanical or Electrical Subcontractors 
when bidding on a Public Works project? 

 
This requirement falls under Title 67-2310.  Please use the following link to 
review this statute:  
http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title67/T67CH23SECT67-2310.htm 

 
 

11. Why do I have to take the same test for an electrical, plumbing or HVAC 
contractor’s license as I do for a Public Works Contractor license?   
 
The contractor portions of the exams are the same and are required to only be 
passed once. The trade portion of the exams is different. 

 
 

12. Why is the state involved in my business and what does my license fee do 
for me? 

 
The licensing process assures that you are experienced and qualified to perform 
the work you are bidding on, that you have the financial wherewithal to complete 
the project and that you are able to obtain bonding.  The fees cover 
administrative costs of the licensing process and assist us in investigating 
complaints against those who do not comply with Title 54-19. 

 
  

http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title67/T67CH23SECT67-2310.htm

